Schloss Vollrads Oestrich Winkel RheingauWeingüter Schloss Vollrads WeineStilvolles Ambiente auf HofterrasseRäume mieten im HerrenhausFeiern im SchlosssaalSchloss Vollrads PrivatgartenSchloss Vollrads Herrenhaus
    

Schloss Vollrads. Wine. Good.

The residential tower of the Riesling wine estate Schloss Vollrads is visible from afar as it stands above the building complex and the vineyards. The Barons of Greiffenclau, old members of the nobility in Lorraine, began cultivating grapes and trading wine long ago. They lived in the tower for centuries.

Schloss Vollrads, one of the oldest wineries in Germany, is situated above Oestrich-Winkel in the Rheingau, attractively nestled in the midst of this cultivated landscape. Around it, hiking trails invite you to explore the region. A popular nature trail takes you through the Vollradser Wäldchen (Vollrads Woodlands) in the north, and following the idyllic Flötenweg (Recorder Lane) you can walk through the vineyards alongside Schloss Vollrads and around the whole estate. The name of this hiking trail derives from the Rheingauflöte, the typical wine bottle with long neck and faceting.

Today Schloss Vollrads is a modern, outward-looking winery. We gladly welcome visitors and guests who wish to take part in our life and our many events. In autumn, you can experience the hustle and bustle that marks harvest time. Presses, fermentation cellars and filling systems are located behind the doors of the farm buildings. Our wine store can be found in the Kutscherhaus (coach house), and the Gutsrestaurant (manor house restaurant) is situated in the Kavalierhaus (squire’s house) and the orangery. Alternatively, you can stop by on the courtyard patio during the summer weekends for Flammkuchen (tarte flambée) and a selection of our wines. Welcome to Riesling!

    

All’s well that ends with a glass of Riesling

What began over 800 years ago at Schloss Vollrads with the cultivation and sale of wine, has established a tradition which continues to this day in viticulture, cultural history and hospitality. Our long history has granted us a rich heritage, but also the obligation to continue this tradition responsibly.

We are proud that today Schloss Vollrads is a modern winery, which is also one of the oldest and, at the same time, one of the most beautiful. The combination of historic roots and a contemporary, humane approach make Schloss Vollrads a special place and our Riesling an extraordinary taste experience.

  • 1097The family tree of the family von Greiffenclau can be traced back until this date. Originally, they lived in the Graue Haus (Grey House) in Winkel, which is regarded as the oldest stone house in Germany.
  • 1211First sale of wine to the St. Viktor monastery in Mainz according to documentary evidence
  • 1330The residential tower is built on Roman foundations. For more than 300 years it would be the residence of the noble family von Greiffenclau.
  • 1650Extension of the estate through the construction of the Kavalierhaus (squire’s house)
  • 1684Construction of the manor house and the cellars for the winery
  • 1814Goethe visits Schloss Vollrads.
  • 1897Schloss Vollrads is founding member of the VDP – Verband Deutscher Prädikatsweingüter (Association of German Prädikat Wine Estates).
  • 1907Extension of the manor house, redesign of the gardens
  • 1997The death of Erwein Count Matuschka-Greiffenclau severs the connection of family and winery.
  • 1999Schloss and winery are taken over by the Nassauische Sparkasse (banking group), which continues to run them as a historical unit.
  • 2001Schloss Vollrads is counted as one of the 100 best wineries in the world.
  • 2011800-year anniversary of wine sales at Schloss Vollrads


To the image gallery Schloss Vollrads >

KarlheinzBergmann
schloss_geschichte_1
schloss_geschichte_2
schloss_geschichte_4
    

Friends’ Association Schloss Vollrads

Because of its long history, Schloss Vollrads isn’t merely a winery. It is a cultural monument and, more importantly, it is an art-historical gem of the Rheingau, close to Wiesbaden. Preserving and maintaining such a heritage property is expensive, and streams of public funding have now slowed to a trickle.

That’s why we at the Friends’ Association consider ourselves fortunate that we have been able to accomplish much since we were founded in 2002. Through the support of our members we were able to repair the tower clock – an emblem of the long history of the Schloss. Together with the Deutsche Stiftung für Denkmalschutz (German Foundation for Monument Protection), we were able to restore the valuable golden wall covering of the leather wallpaper chamber, which dates back to the 17th century. We maintain the archive and library in order to make them available to the public bit by bit.

If you are excited about Schloss Vollrads wines, we would like to persuade you to support the maintenance of the art-historical treasures of Schloss Vollrads, too.

Deutsche Stiftung für Denkmalschutz (German Foundation for Monument Protection) >

The committee members of the Friends’ Association of Schloss Vollrads are:

Jens B. Fischer, 1. chairperson
Hartmut Boeckler, 2. chairperson
Cornelia Kempken, treasurer
Gerhard Schwahlen, secretary

JensFischer
schloss_forderverein
    

We’re doing a power of good

We would like to continue producing our Riesling in a close relationship with nature and with a good conscience in the future. That’s why we’re using clean energy: Our photovoltaic system produces around 120,000 kilowatt hours annually. Using this system, we avoid emitting more than 80 tons of CO2 every year.

We believe in the importance of acting holistically, as a healthy natural environment produces the best wines.

schloss_2sp_fotovoltaik

Schloss Vollrads Oestrich Winkel RheingauWeingüter Schloss Vollrads WeineStilvolles Ambiente auf HofterrasseRäume mieten im HerrenhausFeiern im SchlosssaalSchloss Vollrads PrivatgartenSchloss Vollrads Herrenhaus
    

Ein Schloss, ein Wein. Gut

Der Wohnturm ragt als Wahrzeichen des Riesling-Weinguts Schloss Vollrads weithin sichtbar aus dem Gebäudeensemble und den Weinbergen hervor. Das Geschlecht der Reichsfreiherren von Greiffenclau, alter Adel aus Lothringen, hatte hier einst den Anbau und Handel seiner Weine begonnen und über Jahrhunderte den Turm bewohnt.

Eines der ältesten Weingüter Deutschlands liegt oberhalb von Oestrich-Winkel im Rheingau, reizvoll inmitten der Kulturlandschaft. Rundherum laden Wanderwege ein, die Region zu erkunden. Durch unser Vollradser Wäldchen im Norden führt ein beliebter Naturlehrpfad, und der idyllische Flötenweg verläuft durch die Weinberge, direkt an Schloss Vollrads vorbei sowie um das ganze Anwesen herum. Seinen Namen verdankt dieser Wanderweg der Rheingauflöte, der typischen Weinflasche mit Facettenschliff am Hals.

Ein modernes, offenes Weingut ist Schloss Vollrads heute. Wir freuen uns über Besucher und Gäste, die an unserem Leben und den vielen Events teilnehmen. Im Herbst spüren Sie die Betriebsamkeit während der Weinlese. Hinter den Toren der Wirtschaftsgebäude befinden sich die Pressen, Gärkeller und Füllanlagen. Im Kutscherhaus finden Sie unsere Vinothek, im Kavaliershaus und der Orangerie unser Gutsrestaurant. Oder Sie kehren an Sommerwochenenden auf der Hofterrasse zu Flammkuchen und einer Auswahl unserer Weine ein. Willkommen im Riesling!

Aktuelle Schlossnachrichten >

    

Riesling gut, alles gut

Was vor über 800 Jahren auf Schloss Vollrads mit dem Anbau und Verkauf von Wein begann, hat eine Tradition begründet, die bis heute in Weinbau, Kulturgeschichte und Gastlichkeit fortlebt. Die lange Historie hat uns ein reiches Erbe beschert und damit auch die Verpflichtung, dieses verantwortungsvoll weiterzutragen.

Wir sind stolz darauf, heute mit Schloss Vollrads ein modernes Weingut zu führen, das eines der ältesten und gleichzeitig eines der schönsten ist. Die Kombination aus historischer Verankerung und zeitgemäßer, menschlicher Herangehensweise macht Schloss Vollrads zu einem besonderen Ort und unseren Riesling zu einem außergewöhnlichen Geschmackserlebnis.

  • 1097Bis hier lässt sich der Stammbaum der Familie von Greiffenclau zurückverfolgen. Ursprünglich bewohnte sie das „Graue Haus“ in Winkel, das als ältestes Wohn-Steinhaus Deutschlands gilt.
  • 1211Erster urkundlich belegter Weinverkauf an das St. Viktorstift in Mainz.
  • 1330Auf römischen Fundamenten entsteht der Wohnturm, der für mehr als drei Jahrhunderte zum Wohnsitz der Adelsfamilie von Greiffenclau wird.
  • 1650Erweiterung der Schlossanlage durch Bau des Kavalierhauses.
  • 1684Bau des Herrenhauses und der Kelleranlagen für das Weingut.
  • 1814Goethe besucht Schloss Vollrads.
  • 1897Schloss Vollrads ist Gründungsmitglied des VDP -Verband Deutscher Prädikatsweingüter.
  • 1907Erweiterung des Herrenhauses, Neugestaltung der Gärten.
  • 1997Mit dem Tod von Erwein Graf Matuschka-Greiffenclau endet die Familien-Ära des Weinguts.
  • 1999Schloss und Weingut gehen in den Besitz der Nassauischen Sparkasse über, die beides als historische Einheit fortführt.
  • 2001Schloss Vollrads zählt zu den 100 besten Weingütern der Welt.
  • 2011800 Jahre Weinverkaufsjubiläum auf Schloss Vollrads.


Zur Bildergalerie Schloss Vollrads >

KarlheinzBergmann
schloss_geschichte_1
schloss_geschichte_2
schloss_geschichte_4
    

Förderverein Schloss Vollrads

Mit seiner langen Geschichte ist Schloss Vollrads nicht nur ein Weingut. Es ist ein Kulturdenkmal und mehr noch, ein kunsthistorisches Kleinod des Rheingaus, unweit von Wiesbaden. Erhalt und Pflege solcher Baudenkmale sind teuer, und öffentliche Mittel fließen immer spärlicher.

Deshalb schätzen wir vom Förderverein uns glücklich, dass wir seit unserer Gründung im Jahr 2002 viel erreichen konnten. Dank der Unterstützung unserer Mitglieder haben wir die Turmuhr repariert – ein Wahrzeichen in der langen Schlossgeschichte. Wir konnten gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Stiftung für Denkmalschutz die kostbare goldene Wandbekleidung des Ledertapetenzimmers restaurieren, die aus dem 17. Jahrhundert stammt. Archiv und Bibliothek pflegen und erhalten wir, um beides nach und nach Interessenten zugänglich zu machen.

Wenn Sie von den Schloss Vollrads Weinen begeistert sind, würden wir Sie gerne gewinnen, auch den Erhalt der kunsthistorischen Werte von Schloss Vollrads zu unterstützen.

Deutsche Stiftung für Denkmalschutz >

Der Förderverein Schloss Vollrads wird vertreten durch:

Jens B. Fischer, 1. Vorsitzender
Hartmut Boeckler, 2. Vorsitzender
Cornelia Kempken, Kassenwart
Gerhard Schwahlen, Schriftführer

Informationsflyer als pdf >

Beitrittserklärung als pdf >

Aktuelle Schlossnachrichten als pdf >

JensFischer
schloss_forderverein
    

Wir stehen unter gutem Strom

Weil wir auf Schloss Vollrads auch in Zukunft naturnah und mit gutem Gewissen unseren Riesling machen möchten, nutzen wir sauberen Strom: unsere Fotovoltaik-Anlage produziert jährlich ungefähr 120.000 Kilowattstunden. Durch den Betrieb der Anlage vermeiden wir einen CO2-Austoß von mehr als 80 Tonnen im Jahr.

Wir finden nachhaltiges Handeln wichtig, denn eine gesunde Natur bringt die besten Weine hervor.

schloss_2sp_fotovoltaik